Does Nutella Have Dairy?

Question: Does Nutella have dairy?

Answer: The infancy of Nutella was in 1946. It was started by an Italian man named Pietro Ferrero. Those who know their history likely know that this period was shortly after World War II. Chocolate was in short supply at this time so Ferrero thought of using hazelnuts as means to create a creamy spread.

The spread was eventually revamped in the early 1960’s by Ferrero’s son and rebranded as “Nutella”.  Nutella caught on quickly and remains popular to this day. In 2004, it was reported that a whopping 11 million jars of Nutella were sold annually. If you have ever tasted Nutella, you probably know why it is so popular.

However, does Nutella have dairy? The ingredients of Nutella are as follows:

Ingredients: sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, cocoa, skimmed milk, lecithin, and vanillin.

Yes, Nutella does have dairy in the form of skimmed milk. It is not dairy-free and it does contain lactose. Nutella can potentially cause problems for those with lactose intolerance or lactose sensitivity because of its milk content.

The nutrition facts of Nutella may be more of a concern for some than the dairy content. While Nutella is often touted as a breakfast toast spread, it isn’t the best choice in terms of nutrition. The below nutrition facts should explain why.
[nutrition-label id=3090]

Reply