Do Rice Cakes Have Dairy In Them? (Answered)

Rice cakes have been gaining popularity in recent years as a low-calorie and often gluten-free snack option. However, for those who are dairy-free, there has been some confusion regarding whether or not rice cakes contain dairy.

In this article, we will explore the question of whether or not rice cakes have dairy with examples of rice cake ingredients. Here is what you need to know about dairy potentially being in rice cakes…

Is There Dairy in Rice Cakes?

You have to be careful about selecting a rice cake product if you wish to avoid dairy. Some rice cakes have dairy while others are dairy-free.

For example, let’s look at the various flavors of the popular rice cakes brand, Quaker. As the table below shows, 4 have dairy ingredients while 5 do not.

Generally, plain rice cakes do not have dairy. They are simply made with whole grain brown rice and salt when applicable.

However, it isn’t unusual for flavored rice cakes to have dairy ingredients. Flavors that you might suspect have dairy likely do have it such as white cheddar, butter popcorn, and chocolate.

Quaker Rice CakeDairy Ingredients (Yes or No)?Ingredients
Lightly SaltedNoWhole Grain Brown Rice, Salt.
Salt FreeNoWhole Grain Brown Rice.
White CheddarYesWhole Grain Brown Rice, Degerminated Milled Corn, Nonfat Dry Milk, Buttermilk Powder, Salt, Cheddar Cheese (Cultured Milk, Salt, Enzymes), Butter (Cream, Salt), Whey, Sunflower Oil With Natural Tocopherol Added To Preserve Freshness, Corn Syrup Solids, Maltodextrin, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Modified Food Starch, Citric Acid, Yeast Extract, Potassium Chloride, Lactic Acid, Milk Fat, Onion Powder.
ChocolateYesWhole Grain Brown Rice, Sugar, Fructose, Milk Chocolate Chips (Sugar, Chocolate Liquor, Dry Whole Milk, Cocoa Butter, Soy Lecithin, Vanilla Extract), Corn Maltodextrin, Cocoa, Vegetable Oil (Canola And/or Sunflower Oil), Natural And Artificial Flavor, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Tocopherols (To Preserve Freshness).
Caramel CornNoWhole Grain Brown Rice, Degerminated Milled Corn, Sugar, Fructose, Maltodextrin, Caramel Color, Natural Flavor, Salt, Soy Lecithin.
Butter PopcornYesWhole Grain Brown Rice, Degerminated Milled Corn, Salt, Natural Flavor.
Apple CinnamonNoWhole Grain Brown Rice, Sugar, Fructose, Maltodextrin, Natural Flavor, Cinnamon, Soy Lecithin.
Tomato & BasilYesWhole Grain Brown Rice, Degerminated Milled Corn, Sunflower Oil, Tomato Powder, Corn Maltodextrin, Salt, Sugar, Natural Flavor, Lactose, Spices, Garlic Powder, Yeast Extract, Hydrolyzed Canola Protein, Citric Acid, Tricalcium Phosphate, Caramel Color, Paprika (Color), Tocopherols (Preservative), Annatto (Color), Soy Lecithin.
Everything YesWhole Grain Brown Rice, Corn Grits, Vegetable Oil (Canola And/or Sunflower Oil), Dried Onions, Corn Maltodextrin, Nonfat Dry Milk, Salt, Buttermilk Powder, Natural Flavor (Contains Sesame), Dextrose, Dried Garlic, Spices, Tocopherols (To Preserve Freshness).
The above is for informational purposes only. Base your buying decisions using the ingredient and allergen information printed on the rice cake labels.

Final Thoughts

In summary, we highly suggest that you review the ingredients and allergen information on the actual rice cake label for the most accurate information if certain ingredients are a concern for you. This is true for even the Quaker products featured above since ingredients can change at any time.

If you have a severe dairy allergy, it may be best to avoid rice cakes altogether or look for options produced in a dedicated dairy-free facility where cross-contamination is not a factor. Lundberg and Galil are examples of brands that specifically make vegan rice cakes which are options for readers seeking dairy-free rice cakes.