Aioli is a popular Mediterranean condiment that has been gaining popularity in recent years. In some areas of the Mediterranean, this sauce is made with just garlic and olive oil. However, if you’re American, you likely know the creamy version of it that has similarities to mayonnaise.
Due to its creamy texture, many people wonder whether aioli contains dairy. In this article, you will learn if dairy is a common ingredient in this tasty sauce.
Is There Dairy in Aioli?
Dairy is not a common ingredient in aioli. Most store-bought aioli sauces purchased in the U.S. are made from non-dairy ingredients like soybean oil, eggs, garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil.
We should note that eggs are often mistaken to be dairy. However, they are not classified as dairy products because they do not come from the milk of mammals like cows, goats, or sheep. Instead, they come from avians (birds) like chickens, ducks, and quails.
In order to reinforce the fact that aioli does not typically have dairy, we reviewed the ingredients of the below aioli products to see if any contained dairy. As the table shows, none of the products we examined had dairy.
|Aioli Product||Dairy (Yes or No)?||Dairy Ingredients Used|
|Hellmann’s – Garlic Aioli||No||None|
|Kraft – Chipotle Aioli||No||None|
|Kraft – Garlic Aioli||No||None|
|Heinz – Garlic Aioli||No||None|
|Marie’s – Roasted Garlic Aioli||No||None|
|Primal Kitchen – Garlic Aioli||No||None|
|Red Bone Alley – Lemon Peppercorn Aioli||No||None|
|Stonewall Kitchen – Truffle Aioli||No||None|
|Terrapin Ridge Farms – Sriracha Aioli||No||None|
|Wickedly Prime – Creamy Garlic Mustard Aioli||No||None|
Be aware that not all aiolis are created equal. Traditional aioli recipes do not contain any dairy products, but some commercial aiolis may contain dairy-based ingredients like cream or milk.
It is always important to check the label and ingredients list before purchasing any store-bought aioli. This includes the aioli products listed above since ingredients can change at any time.
The label will provide the most accurate ingredient information which you can use to make an appropriate buying decision. If you are unsure about whether a particular brand of aioli contains dairy, you can always contact the manufacturer for more information.
SEE ALSO>>>Does Tahini Have Dairy? (Answered)
Homemade Aioli & Dairy
There is no shortage of dairy-free aioli recipes online if you wish to make your own and want to avoid dairy. Most are made with simple ingredients like mayonnaise, garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil.
Here are a few recipes to consider if you want to make dairy-free aioli at home:
Aioli does not typically contain dairy but it does contain eggs. If you have a dairy allergy or are lactose intolerant, you can still enjoy aioli as part of your diet. However, always check the label and ingredients list of any store-bought aioli to ensure that it does not contain dairy. Lastly, making your own aioli at home is an excellent way to customize the flavor and ensure that it is dairy-free.