Does Eggnog Have Alcohol In It?

does eggnog have alcohol

Question: Does eggnog have alcohol?

Answer: Eggnog is commonly consumed during the Christmas holiday season. It made from milk, cream, sugar, eggs, and nutmeg. The eggnog you buy at the store often has additives like carrageenan and guar gum. But, what about alcohol as an ingredient?

The eggnog you buy in the dairy section does not contain alcohol in most cases. If you go to the liquor section of the grocery store, you can often find eggnog with alcohol mixed in. It is usually packaged in a bottle and not a plastic container like non-alcoholic eggnog.  Eggnog is traditionally consumed with alcohol so people often buy the non-alcoholic eggnog and add liquor to taste.

The type of liquor used in eggnog varies. Common choices of liquor include rum, amaretto, bourbon, brandy, and cognac. Sometimes there is a mix between two or three different liquors previously listed. We’ve even heard of gin, vodka, and scotch as people’s preferences. If you ask five different eggnog lovers, you are probably going to get five different answers on what the best liquor is to use. Just pick what you like, mix it to the strength you like in the eggnog, and enjoy. To us, you can’t go wrong with rum, bourbon, or brandy. However, feel free to experiment over the holiday season. Sometimes you discover something great going off the beaten path.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *