Question: Is Ice Cream Dairy?
Answer: In order for a food to be considered a dairy product it must be derived from milk or cream. Ice cream is considered dairy because it is primarily made from cream.
The FDA requires U.S. ice cream to contain at least 10 percent milkfat and not less than 10 percent milk solids. However, the higher percentage of milkfat used, the lower the requirement for nonfat milk solids. Other ingredients typically include sweeteners (corn syrup, sucrose, etc.), stabilizers (locust bean gum, guar gum, carrageenan, etc.), and emulsifiers (mono/di-glycerides and polysorbate).