To be vegan means that a person does not consume animal products. This includes meat, eggs, honey, and dairy. Vegans also do not use animal products like leather coats or wool socks. Yogurt is considered a dairy product because it is made from milk. Yogurt is not vegan because it is a dairy product. This includes all milk-based yogurt products such as Greek yogurt, skyr or Icelandic yogurt.
However, there are dairy-free alternatives to milk-based yogurt. Instead of milk, these yogurts use non-dairy milk such as almondmilk, soymilk, and coconutmilk. Below are a few dairy-free yogurt brands.
- Silk – The company offers soymilk-based yogurt alternatives. The current flavors include peach & mango, blueberry, strawberry, vanilla, black cherry, tropical pineapple, plain, and vanilla.
- So Delicious – So Delicious is another popular dairy-free yogurt. They make coconutmilk-based yogurt alternatives including Greek yogurt-like varieties. Flavors include unsweetened coconutmilk, unsweetened vanilla, blueberry, chocolate, passionate mango, blueberry Greek, plain Greek, raspberry Greek, strawberry Greek, and vanilla Greek.
- Stonyfield O’Soy – Stonyfield produces four flavors of soymilk yogurt alternatives. The flavors are raspberry, vanilla, blueberry, and strawberry.
- Daiya – Daiya provides a wide-variety of dairy-free foods. They manufacture Greek-style yogurt alternatives. Flavors include peach, strawberry, blueberry, and black cherry.
- Amande – The company makes several varieties of almondmilk-based yogurts with a large selection of flavors. The flavors are blueberry, strawberry, coconut, cherry, peach, raspberry, vanilla, and plain.
- Coconut Grove – You probably guessed by the company name that they produce coconut based products. Their coconut milk yogurt flavors are plain, vanilla, blueberry, and strawberry.
- Koko – Koko also produces coconut-based yogurts. The flavors are plain, strawberry, raspberry, peach & passion fruit, and coconut & lemon.
- Nancy’s – Nancy’s provides organic soymilk yogurt with flavors including unsweetened, plain, blackberry, strawberry, blueberry, mango, raspberry, and vanilla.
There are also lactose-free yogurt products, which you can view here. However, remember that lactose-free does not necessary mean vegan or dairy-free.