Is There Milk in Tootsie Rolls?

tootsie rolls dairy

Question: Is there milk in Tootsie Rolls?

Answer: Tootsie Rolls have been around since 1896 and are still one of the most popular candy products sold in the United States. Amazingly, the company hasn’t changed the recipe since its begin.

In terms of ingredients, the original Tootsie Rolls do have milk. They also have whey which is also a dairy product.  The current ingredient are as follows:

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Condensed Skim Milk, Cocoa, Whey, Soy Lecithin, Artificial And Natural Flavors.

Note that the company also makes vanilla flavored Tootsie Rolls called “Fruit Chews”. These also contain milk and whey like regular Tootsie Rolls. Additionally, Tootsie Pops, Tootsie Pop Drops, and Tootsie Pop Miniatures all contain dairy as well.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *