Does Peanut Butter Have Dairy?

Does Peanut Butter Have Dairy?

Peanut butter has a couple of quirks, which might make you believe that it is a dairy product. Firstly, peanut butter has the word ‘butter’ in its name. Butter, the yellow kind that you spread on toast, is a dairy product because it is derived from milk. But, does peanut butter contain the same kind of dairy butter? Secondly, peanut butter is very spreadable like traditional butter, which might make you think that it contains some sort of dairy like milk or cream to make it spreadable like traditional butter.

Does peanut butter have dairy?

Peanut butter does not contain dairy. Typically, natural peanut butter is made from 100 percent peanuts that are ground until spreadable. However, several peanut butter manufacturers include ingredients beyond just ground peanuts. For example, the ingredients in Jif Creamy peanut butter are roasted peanuts, sugar, molasses, hydrogenated vegetable oils, mono and diglycerides, and salt. While peanut butter often contains ingredients beyond just peanuts, dairy or milk is not one of these ingredients. Despite peanut butter having the word ‘butter’ in its name, it actually does not contain traditional butter.

Of course, there may be a peanut butter brand that contains dairy somewhere out there. However, it is highly likely that the peanut butter you purchase in the grocery store does not contain any sort of dairy. If dairy is a concern for you, always check the peanut butter label to ensure the peanut butter does not contain dairy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *