Question: Does soy milk contain dairy?
Answer: Many people opt for soy milk as an alternative to regular cow’s milk. Generally, soy milk is lower in calories, cholesterol, and carbohydrates than cow’s milk. However, many people are not exactly sure what is in soy milk. Specifically, they wonder if soy milk contains milk.
Soy milk is a plant-based beverage made from soybeans (see the picture above). The soybeans are ground with water to create a “milk”. Sugar and vitamins are often added for flavor or nutrients. While there is the word “milk” in the name soy milk, it does not contain dairy or milk. In fact, some people who are dairy-free use soy milk in place of regular milk. Because soy milk does not have dairy, it does not contain lactose. This means that people who are lactose intolerant or sensitive to dairy can enjoy soy milk without the worry of potential digestive issues.