Is Velveeta Dairy-Free? (View The Answer)

Velveeta dairy free

Question: Is Velveeta cheese dairy-free?

Answer: No, Velveeta Original is not dairy-free. Three of its top four ingredients are dairy products consisting of skim milk, milk, and milk protein concentrate. Other dairy in this cheese product are whey protein concentrate, whey, milkfat, and chees culture. 

Additionally, Velveeta is not low in lactose content. Per Old Europe Cheese, Velveeta contains 9.3% average lactose. As a reference, dairy products with around 2% lactose or less can be tolerated by many people who have issues digesting lactose. Velveeta’s 9.3% lactose puts it at the higher end of  lactose content for cheese and other dairy products. Velveeta may not be tolerated well by those who have lactose intolerance.

Image Credit: Mike Mozart

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *