Do Chick-fil-A Nuggets Have Dairy?

For individuals with dietary restrictions or preferences, finding suitable dining options can sometimes be a challenge.

If you’re someone who is looking to avoid dairy, you might be wondering whether Chick-fil-A has any dairy-free menu items, particularly their popular Chick-fil-A Nuggets.

Here you will learn if Chick-fil-A nuggets have dairy and discover if any other menu items are potentially dairy-free. Let’s get into the details!

Chick-Fil-a Nuggets & Dairy

Chick-fil-A sells two types of chicken nuggets, which include the classic breaded nuggets and grilled nuggets.

According to Chick-fil-A’s allergen information, the classic breaded nuggets have dairy. In addition to dairy, the other allergens in them include egg and wheat.

The grilled chicken nuggets, however, contain dairy-free ingredients.

While you might consider the grilled chicken nuggets if you are living dairy-free, be warned that Chick-fil-A does not provide the guarantee that any of their food is completely dairy-free.

The biggest reason for no guarantee of dairy-free food is that the food is prepared in a kitchen with shared equipment and prep areas. In other words, there is a real risk that non-dairy foods inadvertently come in contact with foods that contain dairy.

Chick-fil-A also states that variations in supplier ingredients and the handcrafted nature of its food are additional reasons why it does not consider it restaurants dairy-free.

Potentially Dairy-free Menu Items

Chick-fil-A indicates that the following menu items are not made with dairy ingredients. Again, this does not mean that these items are guaranteed to be dairy-free because of the reasons discussed above including the potential for inadvertent cross contact with dairy.

If you are strictly avoiding dairy in your diet, eat the following at your own risk:

  • English Muffin
  • Hash Browns
  • Fruit Cup
  • Grilled Chicken Sandwich
  • Grilled Nuggets
  • Waffle Potato Fries
  • Kale Crunch Side
  • Waffle Potato Chips
  • Buddy Fruits
  • Apple Sauce

There is no guarantee that the above menu items will continue to be made without dairy ingredients. Review the allergen information located on the Chick-fil-A website to confirm that the food does not contain any potential undesirable allergens before you dine.

Image Credit:
Jay Reed/flickr