Do Oreos Have Carrageenan?

Oreos are iconic and need no introduction. While most people are familiar with this classic cookie brand, understandably, many are unaware of the ingredients that make up Oreos. 

Here you will learn about one potential ingredient inside Oreos called carrageenan. You learn a little bit about this ingredient and whether Oreo cookies have it in them.

Oreo Flavors & Carrageenan

All of the following Oreo flavors were carrageenan-free at the time of this article.

Since ingredients can change without notice, be sure to double check the ingredients printed on the packaging to confirm that they are still carrageenan-free when you go to purchase Oreos.

Carrageenan is required to be listed as an ingredient if a product contains it. The label ingredients should be your ultimate source to determine if a product has carrageen or potential other undesirable ingredients.

Oreo Flavor
Carrageenan (Yes or No)?
Double StufNo
Mega StufNo
Dark ChocolateNo
Peanut ButterNo
Chocolate Peanut Butter PieNo
Birthday CakeNo
Caramel CoconutNo
Golden – Double StufNo
Toffee Crunch No
Chocolate HazelnutNo
Java ChipNo
Original – ThinsNo
Extra Stuf – ThinsNo
Dark Chocolate – ThinsNo
Mint – ThinsNo
Lemon – ThinsNo
Fudge CoveredNo
Original – Gluten-FreeNo
Double Stuf – Glute-FreeNo
Mint – Gluten-FreeNo
Cotton CandyNo
Super MarioNo
Blackout CakeNo

Here is a summary of the data found in the table above regarding carrageenan in Oreos:

  • Original Oreo: The classic Oreo flavor that started it all does not contain carrageenan. This holds true for various variations of the original flavor, such as Double Stuf, Mega Stuf, and more.
  • Special Flavors: From Mint to Dark Chocolate and Peanut Butter to Lemon, it’s clear that Nabisco, the brand behind Oreos, has strived to create a wide array of flavors to cater to diverse palates. The good news for those concerned about carrageenan is that none of these flavors, including Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, Birthday Cake, and Caramel Coconut, contain this additive.
  • Thins and Gluten-Free: For those who prefer a lighter snack, both Original and Extra Stuf Oreo Thins, as well as the Gluten-Free versions, are carrageenan-free. This means that people with dietary restrictions can also enjoy these treats without worrying about this particular ingredient.
  • Limited Editions: Oreos are known for their creative limited-edition flavors, such as Cotton Candy, Super Mario, S’mOREO, and Blackout Cake. Just like the classic flavors, these limited editions also do not contain carrageenan.

Oreo Ingredients

We won’t list the ingredients to all flavors of Oreos but here the ingredients for the original flavor to give you an idea if what is in these cookies:

Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Sugar, Palm Oil, Soybean and/or Canola Oil, Cocoa (Processed with Alkali), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Leavening (Baking Soda and/or Calcium Phosphate), Salt, Soy Lecithin, Chocolate, Artificial Flavor.

*View the ingredients printed on the product packaging for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

Carrageenan: What is it?

Carrageenan is a natural food additive derived from red seaweed. It’s commonly used in the food industry for its thickening, gelling, and stabilizing properties. This ingredient has been used for centuries, particularly in cooking and traditional medicine.

However, in recent times, concerns have arisen regarding its safety in food products. We highly encourage you to do your own research on the controversy surrounding the use of carrageenan in food if you are unaware it.

We won’t get into all the potential side effects of carrageenan since many readers likely know them if they are here wondering about Oreos. However, people have reported the following side effects after consuming carrageenan: inflammation, bloating, irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), cramps, upset stomach, diarrhea, and more (source).

Certainly, additional research needs to be completed on topic. You should discontinue consuming carrageenan if you believe it is having a negative impact on your health.

Of course, seek the advice of a qualified medical professional such as a doctor if you believe you are experiencing ongoing problems from carrageenan or potentially other sources that are a concern for your health.

Final Thoughts

Oreos did not contain carrageenan at the time of this article. We suspect that this will continue to be true going forward but you should check the ingredients at the store to confirm that your chosen Oreo flavor remains carrageenan-free before you make a purchase.