Does Ketchup Have Dairy?

Question: Does ketchup have dairy?

Answer: To answer this question we took a look at a couple major ketchup brands to see their products contain dairy. The obvious starting point is the widely popular Heinz which dominates the ketchup market.

Heinz Ketchup ingredients are as follows: Tomato Concentrate From Red Ripe Tomatoes, Distilled Vinegar, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Syrup, Salt, Spice, Onion Powder, Natural Flavoring.

You can see by reviewing the ingredients that they do not include dairy products. Additionally, Heinz does not list milk or dairy as an allergen on their website for their original ketchup. Based on this data, Heinz original ketchup is dairy free.

Hunt’s Ketchup has similar ingredients to Heinz : Tomato Concentrate made from vine ripened Tomatoes, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Distilled Vinegar, Corn Syrup, Salt, Less than 2% of: Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Natural Flavors.

ConAgra Foods, the manufacturer of Hunt’s, will list allergens like dairy on the labeling.  Hunt’s labeling does not reflect dairy.

While the above two kinds of ketchup are dairy free, it is possible for other products to contain dairy. Review the ketchup label before you buy if dairy is a concern for you.