Do Oreos Contain Milk?

Do Oreos contain milk

Question: Do Oreos contain milk?

Answer: For many, the inside filling of an Oreo is the best part of the cookie. The white creamy center is largely what makes Oreo the best-selling cookie in the United States.

If you have ever wondered about the ingredients of an Oreo, you probably would suspect that at least the inside filling is made from milk. Surprisingly, Oreos do not contain milk.

Nabisco, the manufacturers of Oreo, list the following ingredients for the original Oreo:
Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Sugar, Palm, And/or Canola Oil, Cocoa (Processed With Alkali), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Leavening (Baking Soda, And/or Calcium Phosphate), Cornstarch, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Vanillin(–)an Artificial Flavor, Chocolate. Contains Wheat, Soy. Source:

The ingredients listed by Nabisco do not separate out the chocolate wafer ingredients from the filling ingredients. Therefore, we cannot determine the specific ingredients that make up the filling. However, several websites provide Oreo copycat recipes that will give you an idea of the filling ingredients.

While Oreos do not contain milk, they are not necessarily vegan. Some facilities where Oreo cookies are made contain the risk of cross-contamination from milk. This means that milk is being used in the same facility for other products and can come in contact with Oreos during the manufacturing process.