Does French Toast Have Dairy?(Quick Answer)

Breakfast foods are notorious for having milk or other dairy in them. However, is French toast one of those breakfast items that also has dairy?

The short answer is that it is common for French toast to have dairy.

Read on to learn more about the dairy in homemade, store-bought frozen, and restaurant made French toast.

Homemade French Toast & Dairy

The primary ingredients in your typical homemade French toast include eggs, milk, sugar, vanilla extract, and cinnamon. 

Homemade French toast commonly has dairy from the milk used to make it. Other dairy products that you might find in French toast include cream, half & half, buttermilk, and even yogurt. 

You’re not out of luck if you wish to enjoy French toast but want to avoid dairy.

Non-dairy milk substitutes can be used to make French toast. These might include oat milk, almond milk, soy milk, and coconut milk

Check out this article from Treat Dreams about French toast milk substitutes to learn about the correct ratio to sub out milk for a milk alternative. For example, the article recommends using ⅔ cup of almond milk when a recipe calls for 1 cup of regular milk to be used. 

Alternatively, there are French toast recipes that don’t require any sort of milk at all. This recipe from Wholefood Soulfood Kitchen is an example of one that uses no milk but still provides a tasty breakfast. 

SEE ALSO>>>Do Eggo Waffles Have Dairy? (Answered)

Frozen French Toast & Dairy

Below you can see a list of popular French toast products and whether each has dairy. As you can see, it is common for store-bought French toast to have dairy in it.

If you wish to avoid certain ingredients in foods, it is vital to read the label at the store to verify what is in it. This includes the French toast products listed below considering that ingredients can change without notice.

Use the information printed on the label for the most accurate ingredient and allergen information to make your buying decisions.

Contains Dairy?
Belgian Boys Brioche French ToastYes
Eggo French Toaster Sticks (Original)Yes
Eggo French Toaster Sticks (Cinnamon)Yes
Farm Rich French Toast Sticks (Original)No
Great Value French Toast Sticks (Cinnamon)Yes
Kroger French Toast Sticks (Original)No
Murry’s French Toast Sticks (Original)Yes
Publix French Toast Sticks (Original)Yes

Restaurant French Toast & Dairy

You should expect any restaurant made French toast to have dairy unless you can definitively verify otherwise with the restaurant.

We say this because cross-contamination is a real risk in kitchens through using shared equipment, spillage, and other means.

Furthermore, you also have to rely on the restaurant’s word about the allergen information related to their food. Chain restaurants are generally good about disclosing this information. However, you will be placing a lot of reliance on many restaurants telling you the right information about allergens in their food.