Does Piña Colada Have Dairy? (Answered)

woman drinking a pina colada

Piña Colada is a popular cocktail that has been enjoyed by many since the mid-1950s when it was invented. With its creamy texture and tropical flavors, it’s easy to see why this drink is a favorite of many, especially around the pool or at the beach.

However, for those who are lactose intolerant or have a dairy allergy, many people wonder if this beverage has dairy. In this article, we will explore the various components of piña colada and analyze whether or not it contains dairy. Here is what you need to know about dairy in this beverage.

Classic Piña Colada & Dairy

A classic piña colada is made with cream of coconut, pineapple, pineapple juice, and rum. This is what you’ll order at a quality bar or possibly make at home to enjoy. Since this type of piña colada contains cream of coconut, it’s reasonable to assume that it may contain dairy.

However, despite the word “cream” in its name, this ingredient does not actually contain any dairy. Cream of coconut is primarily made with coconut milk and sugar. Coconut milk is not a dairy product but rather made from the flesh of coconuts and water.

If you make a piña colada at home, you control the ingredients so you’ll know exactly what is in it. However, if you order one at the bar, you may wish to inquire about its ingredients if avoiding dairy is essential for you. We say this because you never know what sort of variations a bartender might make to the drink, including adding dairy to it like cream.

SEE ALSO>>>Does Baileys Have Dairy?

Piña Colada Mixers & Dairy

Piña colada mixes or mixers that are found at grocery stores are often dairy-free. Goya’s Piña Colada Cocktail Mixer is an example of a mixer that has no added dairy ingredients. Furthermore, Master of Mixes Pina Colada Drink Mix is a vegan option you might consider.

However, there are exceptions. An example of a mixer with dairy is Daily’s Piña Colada Cocktail Mixer. It contains sweet cream solids and sodium caseinate which are both derived from milk.

It is important to read the ingredients and allergen information found on the product label of any piña colada mixes or mixers if you wish to avoid dairy. This includes frozen varieties as well.

Ready-To-Drink Piña Colada & Dairy

Ready-to-drink piña coladas are the most convenient way to enjoy this type of beverage. They can be found in single-serve or multi-serving bottles and/or cans with alcohol already in them.

It is not unusual for ready-to-drink piña coladas to have dairy. You can see five examples of these types of beverages below with 4 of the 5 products containing dairy ingredients.

You should be careful about selecting a ready-to-drink piña colada if you want to avoid dairy. Check the ingredients and allergens in them before you make a purchase if particular ingredients are a concern for you.

Piña Colada
Dairy (Yes or No)?
Malibu – Piña Colada Cocktail (12 oz. cans)No
Cutwater – Piña Colada (12 oz. cans)Yes
Texas Craft Cocktails – Piña Colada (1.5l bottle)Yes
Bartenders Trading Co. – Piña Colada (750ml bottle)Yes
Coppa Cocktails – Piña Colada (.75l & 100ML bottles)Yes

Final Thoughts

If you have a dairy allergy or are lactose intolerant, you certainly have options to make or buy dairy-free piña coladas. Just be sure to review the ingredients before you consume/make a piña colada considering dairy may be in it. We’d like to be definitive with our answer to the article question but piña coladas are truly a mixed bag when it comes to dairy being in them.