Do York Peppermint Patties Have Dairy? (Answered)

York Peppermint Patties have been enjoyed by many since they were invented in the 1940s. They are known for their refreshing mint flavor and smooth dark chocolate coating, making them a popular treat for people of all ages.

However, if you are lactose intolerant or follow a vegan diet, you may be wondering if York Peppermint Patties contain dairy. In this article, we will explore whether in fact this candy has dairy. Let’s get into the details…

Is There Dairy In York Peppermint Patties?

Firstly, it’s important to understand what dairy means. Dairy refers to any product that is made from milk, including cheese, butter, and cream. Milk is a common allergen for many people, and it’s important to know whether a product contains dairy to avoid an allergic reaction.

York Peppermint Patties contain dairy. The manufacturer, The Hershey Company, states on its websites that the food allergens in the patties are soy, eggs, and milk. We also confirmed that this candy has milk, eggs, and soy by reviewing the ingredients/allergens listed on the wrapper.

The ingredients used to make York Peppermint Patties include sugar, corn syrup, chocolate, cocoa, invert sugar, milk fat, egg whites, lecithin, cocoa butter, oil of peppermint, PGPR, natural flavor, and milk. As you can see, milk fat and milk are the dairy products in this list of ingredients.

SEE ALSO>>>Is There Milk in Tootsie Rolls?

Are York Peppermint Patties Vegan?

It’s worth noting that York Peppermint Patties are not vegan-friendly. They have milk and egg ingredients which undoubtedly disqualifies the patties from being vegan. If you follow a vegan diet, it’s important to avoid York Peppermint Patties and opt for a vegan-friendly candy instead.

Final Thoughts

In conclusion, York Peppermint Patties do contain dairy in the form of milk fat and milk. The existence of milk and eggs in these patties makes them unsuitable for vegan diets.

Be sure to read the ingredients and allergen information on the actual label of York Peppermint Patties if eating certain ingredients is a concern for you. Only the ingredients/allergens listed on the label/wrapper/packaging will be the most accurate and up-to-date.