Does Apple Pie Have Dairy? (Answered)

Apple pie is a classic American dessert that has been enjoyed for generations. It is a delicious and comforting treat that many people love without much regard for its ingredients beyond the obvious.

However, for people with dairy allergies, lactose intolerance, or dairy dietary restrictions, knowing if dairy is in apple pie is undoubtedly important .

In this article, we will explore the ingredients of apple pie and we will specifically inform you if it has dairy. Let’s get into it!

Is There Dairy in Apple Pie?

The basic ingredients of apple pie are apples, sugar, cinnamon, and a pie crust. The pie crust is typically where you’ll find dairy ingredients if a particular apple pie has it.

Butter, a dairy product, is often used to make the crust of apple pie. However, not all pie crusts contain butter. Some recipes call for vegetable shortening, margarine, or even lard instead of butter.

Vegetable shortening is a type of fat that is made from hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated vegetable oils. Margarine is a butter substitute that is made from vegetable oil and other ingredients. Finally, lard is a made from animal fat, usually pork fat. All are commonly dairy-free.

If you are buying a pre-made pie crust from the store, be sure to check the label for the ingredients. Some pre-made pie crusts do contain dairy, so it is important to read the label carefully before purchasing.

Another ingredient that can contain dairy in apple pie is the whipped cream that is often served on top of the pie. Whipped cream is made from heavy cream, which is a dairy product. If you are serving apple pie with whipped cream, it will contain dairy.

Ice cream is another popular additional to apple pie, particularly vanilla ice cream. Ice cream, no matter the flavor, has dairy.

There are certainly non-dairy whipped cream and ice cream options available at most grocery stores that can be used in lieu of traditional varieties. You may wish to seek out these products if you eating dairy-free.

Final Thoughts

Whether or not apple pie contains dairy depends on the recipe and ingredients used to make it. The pie crust is usually what contains dairy if an apple pie contains it.

Be sure to carefully read the ingredients for everything that goes into making the apple pie if avoiding dairy is essential for you. This includes reviewing the ingredients for any topping like whipped cream or ice cream.

While we cannot give you a definitive yes or no to the question of this article, at least you know to be cautious about consuming apple pie if you are living dairy-free.