Original SpaghettiOs are not vegan. This classic canned pasta contains non-vegan-friendly ingredients such as modified cheddar cheese, enzyme-modified butter, and skim milk. Since these ingredients come from animal milk, they are not vegan.
In addition to Original SpagjettiOs, the manufacturer, Campbell’s, also makes other varieties of this pasta. The following other SpaghettiOs products are also not vegan:
- SpaghettiOs with Franks – You likely already knew this was not vegan just by reading its name. It contains frankfurters made with chicken, pork, and beef. It also containts enzyme modified cheddar cheese, enzyme modified butter, and reconstituted skim milk.
- SpaghettiOs with Meatballs – The meatballs in this canned spaghetti are made with chicken, pork, and beef. You will also find enzyme modified cheddar cheese, enzyme modified butter, and reconstituted skim milk.
- SpaghettiOs with Chicken Meatballs – It contains mechanically separated chicken in its meatballs. It also has enzyme modified cheddar.
- SpaghettiOs Plus Calcium – The ingredients that make this non-vegan are enzyme modified cheddar cheese, enzyme modified butter, and reconstituted skim milk.
- A to Z SpaghettiOs – While this SpaghettiOs product certainly is kid-friendly, it’s not vegan. It has similar non-vegan ingredients to the other products here such as enzyme modified cheddar cheese, enzyme modified butter, and reconstituted skim milk.
- A to Z SpaghettiOs with Meatballs – This is clearly another product not suitable for vegans. Its meatballs are made with chicken, pork, and beef. It also contains enzyme modified cheddar cheese, enzyme modified butter, and reconstituted skim milk.
- Super Marios Bros. Shaped SpaghettiOs with Meatballs – Mario and the gang clearly aren’t vegans. This product includes meatballs and dairy products.
- Football Shaped Pasta with Meatballs – Meatballs, cheese, butter, and other ingredients make it no good for vegans.
- Original Star Wars Shaped – It has reduced-fat cheddar cheese paste like other non-vegan SpaghettiOs products here.
- SpaghettiOs Marvel Spider-Man Shaped Pasta – Spider-Man SpaghettiOs have reduced-fat cheddar cheese paste making it a bad choice for vegans.
- SpaghettiOs Disney Princess Shaped Pasta – The reduced fat cheddar cheese paste used to make this pasta eliminates it from being an option for vegans.
- SpaghettiOs Organic Original Pasta – It has cheddar cheese and is not vegan.
- SpaghettiOs Organic Original Pasta A to Z – As you likely guessed, this one also has cheddar cheese. It’s not vegan.
Simply put, SpaghettiOs are not vegan. They all contain some form of dairy such as cheddar cheese, butter, and/or milk. Some products even contain chicken, pork, or beef. SpaghettiOs are undoubtedly a product that vegans should stay away from.
Image Credit – Willis Lam/flickr