Does Big Mac Sauce Have Dairy? (Answered)

Question: Does Big Mac sauce have dairy?

Answer: When it comes burgers, the Big Mac is likely the most well-known burger in the world. Its ingredients include a bun, two 100% beef patties, shredded lettuce, Big Mac sauce, American cheese, pickles, and onions. Yummy!

The Big Mac sauce or “special sauce” is what distinguishes a Big Mac from most other hamburgers. However, not many people know what exactly is in this sauce. Specifically, many people wonder if the Big Mac sauce has dairy.

Below we have provided the ingredients of Big Mac Sauce. Based on these ingredients, Big Mac sauce does not have dairy. According to McDonald’s, the food allergens of concern in this sauce are egg, soy, and wheat. 

Big Mac Sauce Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Sweet Relish (diced Pickles, Sugar, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Corn Syrup, Xanthan Gum, Calcium Chloride, Spice Extractives), Water, Egg Yolks, Distilled Vinegar, Spices, Onion Powder, Salt, Propylene Glycol Alginate, Garlic Powder, Vegetable Protein (hydrolyzed Corn, Soy And Wheat), Sugar, Caramel Color, Turmeric, Extractives Of Paprika, Soy Lecithin.

While the sauce does not have dairy, this does not mean a Big Mac is dairy-free. As indicated above, a Big Mac contains American cheese. Cheese is a dairy product derived from milk. You would have to do away with the cheese to make a Big Mac dairy-free.

Of course, even if the dairy ingredients are removed from a Big Mac, potential dairy cross-contamination is still an issue because of the use of dairy at McDonald’s restaurants. 

Use McDonald’s as the source for the most accurate ingredient and food allergen information. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *