Do Donuts Have Eggs?

Question: Do donuts have eggs?

Answer: We wish we could give an easy “yes or no” answer to the question. Some donuts do have eggs and others do not. For example, take a look at the Tim Hortons allergen information for their menu items. Many of their yeast donuts do not contain eggs. However, most of their cake donuts do contains eggs. Furthermore, in Krispy Kreme’s frequently asked questions on their website, there is a question,”Does Krispy Kreme use milk products or eggs in their doughnuts?”. The company answers, “The only animal by-products used in our doughnuts are eggs (whites and yolks) and dairy products (including milk, butter, yogurt, whey, nonfat milk and nonfat whey)”.

To determine if  a donut has eggs, it is best to visit the company website to view the ingredient information for the individual product. Most donut manufacturers will indicate the allergen information on their website or clearly state if the product contains eggs. Be aware that there may be issues with cross-contamination where some donuts are made. In other words, a donut that does not contain eggs as an ingredient may inadvertently contain eggs if it is made in a facility that also produces donuts that contain eggs. Obviously for  people who are allergic to eggs, this can be a big issue.

Related posts: