Is Dole Whip Dairy-Free?

Q: Does Dole Whip Have Dairy?

Yes, Dole Whip is dairy-free. It is made by mixing Dole Soft Serve with water until dissolved. This mixture is then put into a soft serve machine to prepare it for serving.

The primary ingredients in Dole Soft Serve are sugar dextrose, stabilizers, and flavoring. There are no dairy ingredients in a Dole Whip assuming an authentic Dole Whip is made using Dole Soft Serve.

This dairy-free frozen treat was first launched in 1986 at Disneyland. Specifically, it was served at the Enchanted Tiki Room who previously sold a pineapple juice drink as a refreshment to guests.

According to Dole Soft Serve, the ingredients for Dole Whip are not only dairy-free, but vegan, and gluten-free as well. While pineapple may be the most popular flavor, there are actually eight other flavors of Dole Soft Serve that can be used to make Dole Whip. The Dole Whip flavors and nutrition facts are listed below.

Dole Whip Flavors & Nutrition

Serving Size5 oz5 oz5 oz5 oz5 oz5 oz5 oz5 oz5 oz
Total Fat (g)
Saturated Fat (g)
Trans Fat (g)000000000
Cholesterol (mg)000000000
Sodium (mg)1010510101010100
Carbs (g)262627262626262626
Sugars (g)242526252524242425

Homemade Dole Whip

There are many homemade copycat recipes out there for Dole Whip. Be aware that several of these have dairy in the form of vanilla ice cream as an ingredient. Disney itself released an at-home Dole Whip recipe during the pandemic. If you are okay with eating dairy, you might want to try the recipe from Disney below.


  • 1 scoop of vanilla ice cream
  • Pineapple juice (4 oz)
  • Frozen pineapple (2 Cups)

All ingredients are placed into a blender and blended until smooth. You can pour this mixture into a glass and drink it straight away. However, you can also place the mixture into a piping bag to create an authentic soft swirl into a bowl of glass.

Final Thought

You shouldn’t expect dairy to be an ingredient in a Dole Whip from Disney. However, you should be cautious of dairy being in homemade Dole Whip desserts if you are seeking to avoid dairy. If dairy is a concern for you, ask the person serving the Dole Whip if it has dairy.