Do Marshmallows Have Eggs? (Answered)

If you have ever whisked eggs until they form peaks, you can see how many people might suspect that they are in marshmallows. For people unaware, egg whites whisked into peaks take on a fluffy, airy texture that looks similar to marshmallow creme.

But, do marshmallows actually have eggs in them? Read on to learn more about what is in marshmallows.

Are There Eggs in Marshmallows?

American marshmallows do not commonly contain eggs. Their typical ingredients are sugar, corn syrup, corn starch, gelatin, and water.

The ingredients are vigorous whipped allowing air to create a fluffy sort of doughy substance. The mixture is then placed into a machine that pressurizes it and forms it into large snake-like marshmallow that is then cut to its traditional size

In the table below you will find a selection of popular marshmallow products, their ingredients, and whether they contain eggs. As you can see, there were no eggs in any product featured at the time of this article.

Be aware that while most American marshmallows are eggless, they are generally not vegan since they use gelatin derived from animals. An example of an exception is the Dandies brand which makes vegan options.

Furthermore, keep in mind that European marshmallow are different from the American varieties in that they often contain eggs. Common ingredients for these types of marshmallows include sugar, eggs whites, and gelatin. So, if you’re in Europe or travel there, be careful about eating marshmallows if you are avoiding eggs.

Marshmallow ProductEggs (Yes or No)?Ingredients
Jet-PuffedNoCorn Syrup, Sugar, Dextrose Modified Cornstarch, Water, Contains Less Than 2% of Gelatin, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate (Whipping Aid), Natural and Artificial Flavor, Blue 1.
CampfireNoCorn Syrup, Sugar, Modified Food Starch (corn), Gelatin, Water, Dextrose, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate.
DandiesNoTapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Natural Vanilla Flavor.
Hill Country FareNoCorn Syrup, Sugar, Modified Corn Starch, Gelatin, Water, Dextrose, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate.
Corn Syrup, Sugar, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Gelatin, Water, Dextrose, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate.
365 By Whole FoodsNoCorn Syrup, Cane Sugar, Modified Cornstarch, Gelatin, Water, Natural Flavors, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate.
KrogerNoCorn Syrup, Sugar, Modified Corn Starch, Gelatin, Water, Dextrose, Natural and Artifical Flavor, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate.
Ingredients can change at any time. Be certain to check the actual product label for the most accurate and up-to-date ingredient information.

SEE ALSO>>>Do Oreo Cookies Have Eggs? (Answered)

Marshmallow Creme & Eggs

Marshmallow creme and a similar product known as marshmallow fluff commonly contain eggs. Specifically, you’ll often find powdered egg whites in marshmallow creme instead of gelatin. The gelatin is not needed since marshmallow creme remains in a semi-liquid form and doesn’t need the gelatin to form the classic sponginess of traditional marshmallows.

Here is an example of what is in the popular Jet-Puffed marshmallow creme to give you an idea of the full ingredients of this type of product:

Ingredients: Corn Syrup, Sugar, Water, Contains Less Than 2% of Dried Egg Whites, Cream of Tartar, Xanthan Gum, Artificial and Natural Flavor.

In summary, you should stay away from products like marshmallow creme or fluff if you wish to not consume eggs unless you can verify they are egg-free.

Final Thoughts

Traditional American marshmallows that you might roast over a campfire do not typically have eggs. However, European marshmallows, marshmallow creme, and marshmallow fluff often have eggs in them. Overall, it’s essential to read the ingredient list carefully when purchasing marshmallows to ensure that they meet your dietary needs.