Does French Onion Dip Have Dairy? (Answered)

Heluva Good Dip

French onion dip is sold in stores in ready-to-eat containers and as dry mixes. Here you will learn if these two types of French onion dip products commonly contain dairy ingredients. Let’s get into the information…

Ready-To-Eat French Onion Dip & Dairy

Ready-to eat French onion dip is sold pre-made in containers and is typically found in the dairy section of the grocery store. However, there are some shelf-stable dips available that are often found next to the potato chips.

Ready-To-Eat French onion dips typically contain dairy (see the table below). This includes the shelf-stable varieties such as Frito Lay. Common dairy ingredients found in these dips include milk, buttermilk, cream, sour cream, Greek yogurt, and whey.

French Onion Dip ProductDairy (Yes or No)?Dairy Ingredients
Dean’sYesSkim Milk, Whey
Heluva Good!YesCultured Pasteurized Milk, Cream, Nonfat Milk
Lay’sYesWhey Protein Concentrate
Frito LayYesWhey Protein Concentrate, Butter Oil, Sour Cream, Skim Milk, Cream Natural Flavor
Prairie FarmsYesCultured Milk, Cream, Nonfat Milk, Whey
Country FreshYesCultured Milk, Cream, Whey
PurityYesCultured Milk, Cream
Utz Creamy OnionYesCultured Skim Milk And Cream
Hidden ValleyYesNonfat Buttermilk
MarzettiYesCream, Buttermilk, Skim Milk, Cultured Whey
MayfieldYesCultured Milk, Cream, Whey, Nonfat Milk
Boar’s HeadYesGreek Yogurt
Great ValueYesSour Cream
KrogerYesCultured Cream, Skim Milk, Whey
HEBYesGrade A Milk And Cream
PublixYesCultured Pasteurized Grade A Cream And Milk, Grade A Whey

While not as popular as the dairy-based dips featured above, there are some ready-to-eat non-dairy French onion dips available at stores. Here are some options you might want to consider if you wish to avoid dairy:

  • Credo Plant-Based French Onion Dip
  • Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt French Onion Dip
  • Hope Cashew & Almond French Onion Dip
  • Wild Creamery Cultured & Plant-Based French Onion Dip
  • Terrapin Ridge Farms Vegan French Onion Dip
  • Violife 100% Vegan French Onion Dip

French Onion Dip Mixes & Dairy

French onion dip mixes come in packets filled with the dry ingredients to make the dip. They are typically mixed with sour cream and mayo that is purchased separately from the mix.

These mixes are often dairy-free but there are exceptions as you can see below. Of course, a dairy-free French onion mix must be combined with diary-free sour cream or mayo if you wish to avoid dairy.

French Onion Dip MixDairy Ingredients (Yes or No)?Dairy Ingredients
Lipton Onion Recipe Soup & Dip MixNoLabel states “May contain milk”
Simply Organic French Onion MixNoNO
Vigo Onion Soup & Dip MixNoNone
McCormick Classic French Onion Dip Mix YesButtermilk
Happy Belly Onion Soup & Dip MixNoNo
Primal Palate Organic French Onion MixNoNo
Knorr French Onion Recipe MixNoNo
The Spice Hunter French Onion Organic Dip MixNoNo

Final Thoughts

There are options to enjoy French onion dip with or without dairy ingredients. However, if you wish to avoid dairy, it is vital to read the actual product label/packaging for the most accurate ingredient and allergen information. This article should be used for general informational purposes only and not relied upon to make your final buying decisions. Use the label/packaging ingredients as your ultimate source for allergen and ingredient information.