Does Nesquik Powder Have Dairy? (View The Answer)

Nesquik powder is a flavor drink mix that has been a favorite in many households since the late 1940s. Children and adults alike continue to enjoy its delicious taste and smooth texture, but there is often confusion surrounding its ingredients. Specifically, many people ask if it has dairy.

In this article, we will explore the answer to the question and shed some light on what is actually is in Nesquik powder. Let’s get into the information!

Is There Dairy In Nesquik Powder?

Nesquik powder is made in several varieties as shown below. We reviewed the ingredients of these products to determine if they contain dairy.

The only Nesquik powder with official dairy ingredients is the chocolate with no sugar added variety. The specific dairy ingredient it contains is reduced mineral whey, which is found in several foods such as dry mixes, soups, sauces, and confections.

All other powders do not have dairy but the manufacturer states that the may contain milk (dairy). This means that while these powders do not directly have dairy in them, they may indirectly contain traces of it from cross-contact at the manufacturing facility.

Of course, if you add milk or other dairy to Nesquik powder it will then contain dairy. However, many people enjoy it with non-dairy options like oat, soy, or almond milk. Some people even mix the powder with water for a convenient and budget-friendly way to make the drink.

Here is what is in the Nesquik powders:

Nesquik FlavorDairy Ingredients (Yes or No)?IngredientsAllergens
Chocolate NoSugar, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Less Than 2% Of Soy Lecithin, Carrageenan, Salt, Natural Flavor, Spice.Contains: soy. May contain milk and wheat.
Chocolate – No Sugar AddedYesReduced Minerals Whey, Maltodextrin, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Soy Lecithin, Carrageenan, Less Than 1% Of: Salt, Sucralose, Natural Flavor, Spice, Acesulfame Potassium (Non-nutritive Sweetener), Vitamins And Minerals: Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Ferric Pyrophosphate (Iron), Niacinamide, Copper Gluconate, Zinc Oxide, Manganese Sulfate, Thiamine Hydrochloride, Biotin.Contains milk and soy. May contain wheat.
StrawberryNoSugar, Beet Juice Concentrate (For Color), Less Than 2% Of Artificial Flavor, Citric Acid, Salt.May contain milk, soy, and wheat.
Hot Fudge SundaeNoSugar, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Less Than 2% Of Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Carrageenan, Salt.Contains: soy. May contain milk and wheat.
Chocolate Caramel SwirlNoSugar, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Less Than 2% of Soy Lecithin, Carrageenan, Salt, Natural Flavor.Contains: soy. and wheat.

Be sure to review the ingredients and allergen information on the actual product container at the store if avoiding certain ingredients is important to you. Ingredients can change at any time. The packaging will provide the most accurate and up-to-date information to help you make an appropriate buying decision.

SEE ALSO>>>Yoo-hoo vs Nesquik: What’s The Difference?

Final Thoughts

In conclusion, Nesquik Chocolate with No Sugar Added is the only powder with official dairy ingredients. All other powders listed above are dairy-free but may indirectly contain dairy (milk) from cross-contamination at the factory. In other words, there is no guarantee that any Nesquik powder is completely dairy-free.