French dressing is a popular salad dressing known for its unique flavor and creamy consistency. With the increasing prevalence of lactose intolerance and dairy allergies, many individuals wonder whether French dressing has dairy or not. In this article, we will explore the ingredients of French dressing and analyze whether it contains any dairy products.
Store-Bought French Dressing & Dairy
In short, some store-bought French dressings have dairy ingredients while others do not. If you wish to avoid dairy, French dressing is one of those products where you should read the ingredients on the label at the store to determine if it contains dairy.
The primary ingredients of store-bought French dressings typically include soybean oil, tomato puree/paste, water, vinegar, sugar/high-fructose corn syrup, salt, and a combination of herbs and spices. These ingredients are mixed together to create a tangy and sweet flavor that complements a wide range of salads.
However, some brands of French dressing may contain additional ingredients such as milk or other dairy products. You should be particularly suspicious of creamy French dressings since their creaminess is often derived, at least partially, from dairy.
The table below shows a selection of store-bought French dressings and whether each contained dairy at the time of this article. Of the 15 dressings featured, only 4 contained dairy to give you an idea of how often you will find dairy in French dressing.
Be sure to read the actual ingredients and allergen information printed on the product label for the most accurate and up-to-date information. Make you buying decision based on the label information only if you wish to avoid certain ingredients including dairy.
|French Dressing||Dairy Ingredients (Yes or No)?|
|Western – The Original||No|
|Marzetti – Country French||No|
|Ken’s Steak House – Country French|
with Orange Blossom Honey
|Kraft – Creamy French||Yes|
|OrganicVille – Organic French||No|
|Annie’s – Organic French||No|
|G Hughes – Sugar Free French||No|
|Henri’s – Original French||No|
|Tony Chachere’s – Creole-Style French||Yes|
|Wish-Bone – Creamy French||No|
|Market Pantry – Creamy French||Yes|
|Good & Gather- Organic French-Style||No|
|Kroger – Creamy French||Yes|
|Great Value – French-Style Dressing||No|
SEE ALSO>>>Does Ranch Dressing Have Dairy?
Homemade French Dressing & Dairy
We reviewed the ingredients of 20+ French dressing recipes found online. The common ingredients in these recipes included ketchup, vinegar, oil, sugar, salt, pepper, and spices. You’ll occasionally find mustard and Worcestershire sauce in these dressings as well.
After reviewing several French dressing recipes, we found that none of them contained dairy. We did come across a few creamy French dressing recipes, however, they utilized mayonnaise for their creaminess, which is typically dairy-free.
Overall, homemade French dressing is a great option for people following a dairy-free diet. Since you control the ingredients, there is no worry of potentially unwanted ingredients being in the dressing.
French dressing may or may not contain dairy depending on the product or recipe. It is important to read the label carefully and avoid any products or ingredients that contain dairy if you have a lactose intolerance or dairy allergy. By taking the time to research and understand the ingredients in French dressing, you can make informed decisions about what you eat and enjoy this tasty dressing without compromising your dietary needs.
Image Credit – Andy Melton/flickr